The Sky is Everywhere

hello

 

The Sky is Everywhere is about a 17 year-old girl, Lennie Walker, who is clarinet second chair. Her older sister Bailey’s died recently, and Lennie is yet to recover from grief. Toby, Bailey’s boyfriend, and Joe Fontaine, ‘quel dork’ boy from Paris, are both trying to help her…

 

the sky is everywhere에 대한 이미지 검색결과

The Sky is Everywhere, it begins at your feet.

 

Goodreads synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

The Sky is Everywhere is by Jandy Nelson. I rate this book 3.5 out of 5 stars. I couldn’t relate to Lennie’s all-complicated situation at first, but as the book went on it made me cry. I felt like I was the one experiencing the loss of someone close, not Lennie, and that’s not easy to do, right? I was actually quite surprised to find myself liking the book after I finished reading it.

I heard that there is a The Sky is Everywhere movie being worked on. I really want to know who’s playing who! I don’t want to let go of Lennie and Joe, I’m dying to find out what happened after the ending! 

There are some bad points about this book. It was slightly confusing and a little hard to get into. The opening didn’t grasp me as such, being about ill plants related to Lennie’s mood and conditions (something like that). This book had some strong and some not-so-strong characters. I’d say Gram is a strong character, but Joe isn’t. This is just my opinion, but when I first met Joe I didn’t think much of him. 

You should read it if you like powerful yet realistic YA themes!

emma

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Sky is Everywhere

Leave a Reply

