Four Scary Books to get you in the Halloween mood

hello

 

Hey everyone it’s Wednesday the 26th and not that that means anything except it’s Halloween very soon! I’m dreading it…

I don’t celebrate Halloween *GASPS* because I don’t find the idea of Trick-or-Treating particularly appealing *FAINTS*. I’m especially sorry to tell you that it’s no use at all coming over to knock on my door on Halloween night because I hang a ‘NO trick-or-treating, you strange werewolves’ sign from the local police station on my front door. #shame And I don’t like reading scary books/ watching horror movies because, well, they scare me half to death. You know what this means, right?

It means that I DO NOT READ SCARY BOOKS but I’ve listed four books nonetheless with freaky looking covers and synopsis to get you people in the mood. How great am I?* I did some crazy research for this post as I don’t usually (or, more like ever) read horror, and let me tell you, I’m shivering just looking at them. *SOBS*

* not very, fortunately.

frozen charlotte에 대한 이미지 검색결과

1.Frozen Charlotte

Oh my god, this cover alone is still giving me nightmares. Have you seen anything like this?? The creepy eyes of the antique dolls?? I cannot see how anyone could write this, let alone read it. I mean, um, sure, it was listed on Zoella Book Club picks but eek.

Goodreads synopsis:

We’re waiting for you to come and play. Dunvegan School for Girls has been closed for many years. Converted into a family home, the teachers and students are long gone. But they left something behind…Sophie arrives at the old schoolhouse to spend the summer with her cousins. Brooding Cameron with his scarred hand, strange Lilias with a fear of bones and Piper, who seems just a bit too good to be true. And then there’s her other cousin. The girl with a room full of antique dolls. The girl that shouldn’t be there. The girl that died.

 

the woman in black book에 대한 이미지 검색결과

2. The Woman in Black

Honestly, I don’t think the cover looks too scary but apparently it’s an amazing page-turning thriller. 

Goodreads says:

What real reader does not yearn, somewhere in the recesses of his or her heart, for a really literate, first-class thriller–one that chills the body, but warms the soul with plot, perception, and language at once astute and vivid? In other words, a ghost story written by Jane Austen?

Alas, we cannot give you Austen, but Susan Hill’s remarkableWoman In Black comes as close as our era can provide. Set on the obligatory English moor, on an isolated causeway, the story has as its hero Arthur Kipps, an up-and-coming young solicitor who has come north from London to attend the funeral and settle the affairs of Mrs. Alice Drablow of Eel Marsh House. The routine formalities he anticipates give way to a tumble of events and secrets more sinister and terrifying than any nightmare: the rocking chair in the deserted nursery, the eerie sound of a pony and trap, a child’s scream in the fog, and most dreadfully–and for Kipps most tragically–The Woman In Black.

The Woman In Black is both a brilliant exercise in atmosphere and controlled horror and a delicious spine-tingler–proof positive that this neglected genre, the ghost story, isn’t dead after all.

 

the haunting of hill house book cover에 대한 이미지 검색결과

3. The Haunting of Hill House

I mean, just look at that silhouette with both arms out and the fingers and the darkened face and unsettling grass. Or is it grass? Is it riverside plants? 

Goodreads synopsis:

First published in 1959, Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House has been hailed as a perfect work of unnerving terror. It is the story of four seekers who arrive at a notoriously unfriendly pile called Hill House: Dr. Montague, an occult scholar looking for solid evidence of a “haunting”; Theodora, his lighthearted assistant; Eleanor, a friendless, fragile young woman well acquainted with poltergeists; and Luke, the future heir of Hill House. At first, their stay seems destined to be merely a spooky encounter with inexplicable phenomena. But Hill House is gathering its powers—and soon it will choose one of them to make its own.

 

 

The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories - HP Lovecraft (1928)

4. The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories

Can’t you just hear the terrified hands in the cover calling out to you? In vengeance? And oh why is it named ‘Cthulhu’? I can’t even pronounce it. Why not something like ‘Pooh’ or ‘Eeyore’? WHY??? And just look at that man who wrote this book!

Goodreads calls this book a:

An unparalleled selection of fiction from H. P. Lovecraft, master of the American horror tale.

 

I have not read any of these books and are not planning to ever. (Suddenly serious) I’m sorry I can’t give you my own insights on the books, but I’m the kind of person who gets terrified and forever have nightmares about a fictional murder…

Have you read any of these books? Were they scary? Worth recommending? Did I miss some really creepy books out? What books do you think are perfect for reading on Halloween Night in an ancient rocking chair in a tiny candlelit room? 

emma

4 thoughts on “Four Scary Books to get you in the Halloween mood

  1. TrainOfThought says:

    I picked up Frozen Charlotte once. I read 2 chapters and I was scared to death! I don’t know how people get through the whole book! I hate horror books and movies, they give me the freaks! Though I don’t mind Doctor Who because I don’t find it too gory!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

