3 YA books I’m kinda scared to pick up again

hello

 

The books below, um, scarred me for life (so to speak)… I’m probably never going to pick them up again, ever, because if I fail to get through it once more, a nightmarish reading slump is sure to follow!

the maze runner series에 대한 이미지 검색결과

The Scorch Trials

Yes, I’m weird and I’m guessing no one else agrees with me on this one. I only picked it up because it was popular and everyone was saying so much about how good the series was. I hated the first book too, but I kind of forced myself to read through it. But, after a few pages of the second book, I’d had enough of Thomas and Teresa and oh my god I can’t even remember what the other characters were called. It wasn’t as amazing or gritty as The Hunger Games, and this just wasn’t for me.

 

the boyfriend list에 대한 이미지 검색결과

The Boyfriend List

The title itself made me cringe, but I picked it up because I was waiting for E. Lockhart’s other book, We Were Liars. And let me tell you that I nearly fell asleep. Ahem. Excuse me while I yawn and then slowly close my eyes that will not open for at least another century.

 

the short second life of bree tanner에 대한 이미지 검색결과

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner

I LOVE the Twilight Saga, so after I’d read and re-read all the books, I tried this novella. It just wasn’t the same. Riley and Victoria and newborns and hunting and…  I’ve decided that I like Bella’s voice, and only hers (like it’s a one-and-only soulmate or something). I read the first half, but it did take me almost a week, whereas I instantly fell in love with Twilight and finished it in three hours. I couldn’t finish this book, no matter how much I tried to push myself through it, so I gave up. 

To lighten things up a bit (is it just me who’s sobbing after a post full of book-despising words?) I’ve got another pretty bookmark for you!

read-at-your-own-risk  🙂  🙂

 

What do you think of my list? Do you agree (I doubt it with my first choice!)? Have you ever read something and hated it? Maybe you didn’t even want to finish it? Were you glad to see the end of it? Were you in a nightmarish reading slump after? Were you reading other books at the same time because it was that lousy? Share your thoughts!

 

emma

9 thoughts on “3 YA books I’m kinda scared to pick up again

  1. TrainOfThought says:

    You didn’t enjoy The Maze Runner? I loved the first book and HATED the 3rd (last in the trilogy, The Death Cure!) But, a new sequel is coming out called THEFEVER CODE and I AM SO EXCITED!! I get you might have not liked Scorch Trials but the first book was amazing, sorry to hear you didn;t enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

