All the Bright Places

hello-3

P.S.Thanks to Freepik for this graphic!

 

Goodreads synopsis:

  Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
  Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
  When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?

 

jennifer niven debut에 대한 이미지 검색결과

It’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.

 

All the Bright Places is Jennifer Niven’s debut Young Adult novel, and it’s supposed to be good and all, but ARGH. I had high hopes for you, Places. How dare you disappoint me. I give this book 2/5 stars. This novel super annoyed me, because everyone was like, ‘Oh my god Places changed my life, you’ve got to read it or you have not lived’, so I read it just to prove that I am an actual living organism, but I’m kind of confused because I couldn’t get into it. AT ALL. 

I couldn’t see anything unique in Jennifer Niven’s writing, and there was nothing special about the book that came out and surprised/touched/broke me (like, say, TFIOS*), which is kind of what I was expecting from it. Also, what I found strange was that a chapter or two was all about Finch and him wanting to kill himself, and a few chapters after was nothing to do with that, and repeat. This confused me a lot because throughout the book I had to keep reminding myself Finch wanted to take his own life, or else I would forget. *AHEM*

*Which is totally weird, because Guardian says All the Bright Places is ‘The next Fault in Our Stars- this is it’!

There is an All the Bright Places film in progress, starring Elle Fanning as Violet Markey. The other cast is yet to be announced. I wouldn’t personally recommend this book but there’s plenty of other people who loved it so don’t be put off by my strange taste in books, and please tell me if you agree with me on this one. 

This book is amazing… I couldn’t put it down- Zoe sugg AKA Zoella

 

emma

17 thoughts on “All the Bright Places

  1. tasya @ the literary huntress says:

    Ahh I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy this one! Personally, I loved it. I don’t think it’s like TFIOS at all, because I didn’t like TFIOS. I think the whole Finch wanted to kill himself and then not and repeat again is because he has bipolar disorder. People with bipolar tends to have a really sharp mood changes. I really like the writing style too! It’s not too much that it becomes purple prose, yet not that simple that it has its kind of beauty. I hope your next read would be better though! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Emma says:

      I was surprised and disappointed that I didn’t enjoy All the Bright Places. No, I didn’t think it was like TFIOS at all, either, but apparently it is? Yep, I found the ending okay, but a little overwhelming… 🙂

      Like

  2. midnightrantersblog says:

    It’s always refreshing to see someone’s differing view about something you enjoy. I absolutely loved that book and hearing that you didn’t enjoy it so much makes for an interesting change (is that weird?). Do you generally not like tragic books or was Places just an exception?

    (And I didn’t think it was like TFIOS at all :/ )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mahriya @ MyBookishLife says:

    After seeing your review and already commenting, I was hesitant about reading the book. I finally decided to give it a go. I didn’t LOVE the book neither did I HATE It. It wasn’t as amazing as people made it out to be, I mean?? It was a typical insta-love story yet still a little different. I think it was cute and I liked certain scenes but it wasn’t something that made me#fangirl. For me, it was a regular read and nothing special. I’m glad I read it though and have no regrets. Thanks so much for reviewing this book otherwise I would’ve never read it. I only read recommended books from blogs I love xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma says:

      Yes, there’s such a hype around this book, so I decided to give it a go. The ending of All the Bright Places was emotional but I didn’t fancy it too much either. I’m glad you read it, though – at least you’re not the cat curiosity killed!
      You’re totally welcome and thank you so much, that means a lot to me. I love your blog too. 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

