Book Review/ We Were Liars by E. Lockhart- Read it NOW

hello

 

Before I get started on the review… sorry everyone who’s comments have not appeared on my blog! It’s not because I didn’t approve it or anything, but my settings have been playing up and put some of the comments in spam and I didn’t know! I got a little suspicious so checked today and THERE THEY WERE!! So, apologies. 🙂 BTW, does anyone know how to fix this problem?

I haven’t posted a review since forever and that’s okay because I didn’t read at all so I didn’t have anything to review about. 

We Were Liars

We are the Sinclairs. 

Goodreads synopsis:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

1-1

I don’t watch youtubers, but I have snooped around on the WHSmith website and found the Zoella Book Club videos. As soon as We Were Liars was mentioned in one of them, I got really excited, but have not been able to get around to it until this week. I wasn’t actually expecting much from it because I was very disappointed with The Boyfriend List.

But was I wrong? YES. Because We Were Liars was just all round amazing. It was written very simply but beautifully. I read without any difficulty and it still made me cry a little. The pages kind of turn themselves. And it was good to take a break from romance. (Calm down, I get the cute love between *SPOILER* and *SPOILER* but there was nothing beyond kissing so there. I’m very happy.)

I liked how it was a very happy and very predictable ending.

I’m lying. (See what I did there? I LIED because this whole entire book’s about lying. Haha, go me.) How it says on the cover that you’ll wonder how you’ve missed the ending coming, it was TRUE. Very unexpected. I couldn’t predict it at all and that wasn’t because I didn’t know anything about this book except it was about a privileged girl and her family. It was because it was very sudden and opened my tear ducts.

Okay, here the spoiler comes: look away! When the Liars were drifting away  😦 I cried because I had got very attached to them over the short novel and didn’t want to see them go. I know.

Another thing I liked about this book was that it wasn’t exactly in chapters. It was more like segments of Cady’s thoughts, if that makes sense? And also the formatting. Less paragraphs, more disjointed parts of sentences on different lines. It will make complete sense once you have read the book. 

One thing you should definitely not do before going in to fall in love with We Were Liars:

DO NOT LET ANYONE SPOIL IT FOR YOU. OR GIVE ANYTHING AWAY. TRUST ME WHEN I SAY IT WILL RUIN YOUR LIFE. Well, that’s a little exaggerating but a little exaggeration never hurt anyone. There’s, technically, only one thing they could tell you-so if anyone offers to tell you the ending, run away screaming and never ever talk to that crazy chimpanzee again.

We Were Liars – 4.5/5 stars, thank you raw emotions and thank you even more for leaving me to cry my house down to the ground. (instead of, y’know, burning it down? Wink wink)

This was short. *cries in a corner’* No wonder my friends think I’m weird.

emma

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Book Review/ We Were Liars by E. Lockhart- Read it NOW

  1. Train Of Thought says:

    I think there is something wrong with MY comments as well! The thing is, my comments are not going through on LOTS of blogs, not just YOURS. People have been telling me recently that they haven’t been recieving any even though I have commented on their post. Some comments are going through and a lot aren’t. I’m not entirely sure what’s happening and I haven’t found any solutions yet I’m really disappointed with WordPress or whatever is happening with my WP comments.
    Anyways, I haven’t actually read this book so I had to skim over the spoiler. but it sounds amazing! *Adds to TBR list*

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sarah says:

    This is my favorite book ever :)) Perfect review; I love the way you described her writing, simple yet beautiful. Usually I see more negative reviews for We Were Liars, so I’m glad you enjoyed it so much! I think its one of those love/hate novels…A lot of people see the characters as selfish and awful, but I got just as attached as you to them in this **super** short book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

