Mini Review // If I Stay by Gayle Forman

mini-review-of-if-i-stay

Hello! I’m going to review If I Stay today. This is something I wanted and needed to do for ages, but couldn’t pick up the courage to do it (in truth more like I was overwhelmed by pure laziness) so was procrastinating for like over a month. But I allocated a time of 1 hour for it in my half term planner and so I have to do it. Anyway… here it is! 


Goodreads synopsis:

In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces- to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heartwrenchingly beautiful, this will change the way you look at life, love, and family. Now a major motion picture starring Chloe Grace Moretz, Mia’s story will stay with you for a long, long time. 


If I Stay is about a teenager named Mia, who leads an ordinary life with her family, and boyfriend, Adam. It’s all going brilliantly: everyone is almost certain that Mia will get into Julliard with her cello playing; and she’s finally found someone who she feels comfortable and loved around. But then comes the unexpected.

If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)

um what it says on the cover is true for me as I loved Twilight and this book, but WHAT? That comment is outrageous. This was nothing like Twilight. Why do booksellers think they have to refer to other bestselling books for the book to sell? I mean, this is amazing by itself. I’ll stop now. I’m ranting too much. I have to save my ranting allowance for the text below. 

If you’ve been around with me for a while, then you’ll know that I cry at books rarely and the only books I’ve cried at so far in the long four and 1/2 months are The Sky is Everywhere and We Were Liars. But this book left me in a very long emotional book hangover (my first, too). It got me thinking, a lot. Since I devoured this book, I’ve been saying ‘I love you’ to my parents in every phone call.

If I Stay is that amazing and so, so realistic.

And if you’re not a fan of huge wolves of the book world, then you really should give this one a go. My copy was 261 pages, but a big chunk of it was for the interview, footnotes and things that are not actually the story.

I’m not exaggerating when I say it’ll leave your (metaphoric; emotional) pores OPEN RAW.


Lots of pros:

  • The plot was simple but wonderful aarrghhh. I think that explains all.
  • Mia is kind of dull and very ordinary, except for her exceptional musical talent, but I liked her like that because #relatable.
  • She plays the CELLO! Omg so do I. But not that well.
  • I found myself nodding vigorously at the musical references.
  • I cried so much at every. Single. Death.description

Unfortunately, despite me being obsessed with this book, it had a few flaws.

  • The backstories. The flashing memories. They made me forget the actual storyline, which was Mia deciding if she wanted to stay or not, because they took up most of the book and was not really that interesting to read? 
  • Mia’s decision was not shocking. But that could have been because I was aware of the existence of a sequel and why would there be a sequel if she died? Think about it, peeps. Unless the sequel is about Mia bouncing on shiny rainbow coloured trampolines with cute bunnies and jackalopes in the afterlife. Which I wouldn’t be interested in reading, tbh.
  • The boyfriend, though. No thank you. You’re too dark for me. And, um, not to be judgmental or anything the actor in the movie didn’t really remind me of Adam. #sorrynotsorry
  • The cover has nothing to do with the story but what’s going on? Why is it so UGLY? I think they should have invested more in the design. After all, it is a really beautiful book.

I’d definitely recommend If I Stay for anyone in their teens who needs to ugly-cry. Not saying I did (yeah right direct lying works every time). But yeah. 5/5 stars. That might be a first. Or not? I’m sorry but I don’t have the energy nor determination to go through 20+ reviews. I can’t wait to read the sequel! *squeals* 

Okay, that’s it for this post. Byeee!

emma

9 thoughts on “Mini Review // If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Leave a Reply

