Wrap Up // 2017 June

hello

Hello, fellow bookshelves! I don’t know why I decided to do a Wrap Up, because I’ve only just come back from a hiatus and I am still catching up and I don’t know what is going on at all. Also I am winning at being a confuzzled flamingo. (I know I’ve used that one like so many times but I just need to make sure you understand that I am having an identity crisis- I mean, I thought I was human. But obviously not.) But do not fear! Wonder Flamingo (aka me) is back with a lovely long post that will devour you in its puzzlingness. (Honestly, I don’t even like flamingoes, and I have not a clue where this obsession with referring to myself as one came from.)

Can you tell I am used to be a bracket overuser from that paragraph alone?

  • 1) Yes
  • 2) Yes
  • 3) You make it too obvious for my ingenious brain.
obviously gif에 대한 이미지 결과

This is called foreshadowing. You’ll soon find out why.

2017 june wrap up

BOOKS

  • Sweet Honey (reread) 4 cups of tea rating
  • The 5th Wave 2 cups of tea book rating
  • The Infinite Sea 1 cup of tea book rating.png
  • The Upside of Unrequited 5 cups of tea rating
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower 4 cups of tea rating
  • Before I Fall 5 cups of tea rating
  • Caraval 5 cups of tea rating
  • Throne Of Glass 5 cups of tea rating

Contrary to popular beliefs, I did read 8 books this month. Maybe it was the hiatus. Who knows? No one tell me. Shh. Because if it is, I might be tempted to go on another one. And you don’t want that, do you? Neither do I.

nervous laugh gif에 대한 이미지 결과

divider.png

Ooh, look at that pretty divider! Can we stop everything for a million millenniums to appreciate the pinkness of that graphic?? 

FILMS

  • Akeelah and the Bee (like, the fifth time) 4 cups of tea rating
  • La La Land (what was the point of the ending??? *sobs*) 3 cups of tea rating
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them 4 cups of tea rating
  • Beauty and the Beast (due to this movie, I found out Emma Watson was born in France. You should be very worried for me.) 5 cups of tea rating
  • Pride and Prejudice 5 cups of tea rating
  • Mansfield Park (eek, cousins.) 5 cups of tea rating
  • The 5th Wave 3 cups of tea rating
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower 4 cups of tea rating
  • Clique (TV series, but soooooooooooo good) 5 cups of tea rating
  • Before I Fall 1 cup of tea book rating

Let me just have a big rant about how The 5th Wave film was better than the book, but seriously, I got SO angry watching the Before I Fall film because it just did not live up to the book at all! I’d have thought it was a completely different movie if not for the names. For one of the characters, they turned her into a different sexuality just so they could avoid portraying the drama associated with her, but it played such an important role. RANT OVER. But I will not forget this. 😦 

angry gif에 대한 이미지 결과

Me always.

divider

NEWS

  • Have you watched the Despicable Me 3 trailer? It is truly baffling. I don’t believe in bubble gum villains or terrible ship names (ie. Grucy).
  • despicable me 3 trailer에 대한 이미지 결과

    My point exactly.

    I went to Bletchley Park a few days ago and I absolutely loved looking around and I was so thankful to everyone who worked there during the War. I very strongly recommend that you visit because it will make you melt in gratitude. (And also there is an Enigma machine there which Benedict Cumberbatch touched himself when filming The Imitation Game. I freaked out and fainted (and had to have Benny himself sent to me. (Only in my wildest, most bewildering hallucinations)))

  • I had Ben and Jerry’s for the first time last Thursday. I don’t like mint choc chip but Minter Wonderland was gorgeous and I also spent a while laughing at the wordplay. (Yes, I am that kind of person who finds the Art of Word Wizarding funny.) But congratulate me.
  • I bought two books I am very excited to read! They are kind of hyped, but nevertheless. They are Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon and The Hate You Give by Angie Thomas. 
  • I HAVE INSTAGRAM! I am telling you so all of you can visit my lovely profile called @_bookemma and worship admire me and my books.
  • And don’t forget my Artsy Writing competition for Issue 2!
  • I am officially a Ravenclaw. I took the Pottermore quiz months ago but I didn’t tell you because I forgot am the Evil Empress. (Or did I? Who knows. I have a terrible memory.)
  • Also bye. x

kisses emma

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Wrap Up // 2017 June

  1. Mahriya @ MyBookishLife says:

    DIES AT THE *Cough* black DIVIDER. IT’S SO SO GLORIUS!

    I read The 5h Wave this month too! It got for 4 stars for me (you can read my review on Goodreads *COUGH* #self-promo) I definitely want to the watch the movie, because I feel like it would be better?! I LOVED THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER, i CAN’T EVEN! and I ADORED Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them, It WAS FANTASTIC!

    OMG, Benedict Cumberbatch, THAT GIF, you touched the Enigma Machine *DIES FOREVER AND FOREVER* I WILL ALWAYS LOVE SHERLOCK.

    RAVENCLAWS forever xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    I AM SUCH A BRACKET OVERUSER TOO. If I could use them all the time aka and everywhere and anywhere… BELIEVE ME, I WOULD.

    Also, I love that CUTE little divider?!??? It’s so pretty and lovely and CUTE!

    And EXACTLY. WHAT WAS THE POINT OF THAT LA LA LAND ENDING?????? I will never ever ever understand. Gosh, I’m so bitter 😭

    And I took the Hogwarts quiz and I was a Gryffindor but I wasn’t happy with it so I did it again (I was a Ravenclaw) and AGAIN (and now I’m a Slytherin). I am #confusion and I don’t think I’ll ever know what my real Hogwarts House is 😂

    Sorry for my rambling but I really enjoyed your post and your blog and I’m glad you followed me!!! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma says:

      YAASS Bracketus Overusersus is SO rare, I’ve never met another one of my species before!! *has a little patriotic moment*
      I know I should trust Pottermore which said I was a Ravenclaw but I’m either a Hufflepuff or a Gryffindor in other internet quizzes and also I’m a Slytherin in a quiz my friend found online. WHAT IS THIS CONFUSION. #helpme
      No, it’s no problem at all! I absolutely love every kind of ramble. Thank you xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. May @ Forever and Everly says:

    I LOVE THE DIVIDERS OMG. And I’m sorry about the Before I Fall adaption! This is why I have trust issues. Also, I took the Pottermore quiz this month and I AM A RAVENCLAW WHOOP WHOOP. I feel more Slytherclaw though lol. Fantastic Beasts was great, I love Emma Watson, and I so need to read Caraval, Perks, and Upside (!!!)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma says:

      THANK YOU MAY. I’m too naive. I should consider developing trust issues like a sensible bookshelf. We’re wise owls of the century. Obviously that’s why I didn’t realise New York and New York City were different places. And YOU DO!! They are amazing books. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. simizat says:

    I literally just watched the Perks of Being A Wallflower! Can’t wait to read the book – did you enjoy it? Also yes all the love to Benedict Cumberbatch. What a darling he is ❤
    Simi ~ simizat.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

